ATTACHMENT A BPW ADVISORY 2007-1

SOLICITATION LANGUAGE FOR COMPETITIVE SEALED PROPOSALS:

Living Wage Requirements

A solicitation for services under a State contract valued at \$100,000 or more may be subject to Title 18, State Finance and Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland. Additional information regarding the State's Living Wage requirement is contained in the following section entitled *Living Wage Requirements for Service Contracts*. If the Offeror fails to complete and submit the required Living Wage documentation, the State may determine an Offeror to be not responsible.

Contractors and Subcontractors subject to the Living Wage Law shall pay each covered employee at least \$13.39 per hour, if State contract services valued at 50% or more of the total value of the contract are performed in the Tier 1 Area. If State contract services valued at 50% or more of the total contract value are performed in the Tier 2 Area, an Offeror shall pay each covered employee at least \$10.06 per hour. The specific Living Wage rate is determined by whether a majority of services take place in a Tier 1 Area or Tier 2 Area of the State. The Tier 1 Area includes Montgomery, Prince George's, Howard, Anne Arundel, and Baltimore Counties, and Baltimore City. The Tier 2 Area includes any county in the State not included in the Tier 1 Area. If the employees who perform the services are not located in the State, the head of the unit responsible for a State contract pursuant to §18-102 (d) shall assign the tier based upon where the recipients of the services are located.

Note to Procurement Officer: The agency determines where the majority of the services are to be performed and makes a Tier 1 or Tier 2 determination on that basis. If the agency can determine with certainty which Tier applies, then use the following language:

The contract resulting from this solicitation has been determined to be a Tier _____ contract.

Note to Procurement Officer: If it is not possible to determine with certainty which Tier applies, then use the following language:

The contract resulting from this solicitation will be deemed to be a Tier 1 contract or a Tier 2 contract depending on the location(s) from which the contractor provides 50% or more of the services. The Offeror must identify in their Offer the location(s) from which services will be provided.

- If the contractor provides 50% or more of the services from a location(s) in a Tier 1 jurisdiction(s) the contract will be a Tier 1 contract.
- If the contractor provides 50% or more of the services from a location(s) in a Tier 2 jurisdiction(s), the contract will be a Tier 2 contract.
- ➢ If the contractor provides more than 50% of the services from an out-of-State location, the State agency determines the wage tier based on where the majority of the service recipients are located. This contract is determined to be a Tier ____ contract.

Attachment A continued

Note to Procurement Officer: If the contractor provides more than 50% of the services from an out-of-State location, then the agency determines where the majority of the service recipients are located and makes a Tier 1 or Tier 2 determination on that basis

Living Wage Requirements for Service Contracts

- A. This contract is subject to the Living Wage requirements under Title 18, State Finance and Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland and the regulations proposed by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry. The Living Wage generally applies to a Contractor or Subcontractor who performs work on a State contract for services that is valued at \$100,000 or more. An employee is subject to the Living Wage if he/she is at least 18 years old or will turn 18 during the duration of the contract; works at least 13 consecutive weeks on the State Contract and spends at least one-half of the employee's time during any work week on the State Contract.
- B. The Living Wage Law does not apply to:
 - (1) A Contractor who:
 - (a) has a State contract for services valued at less than \$100,000, or
 - (b) employs 10 or fewer employees and has a State contract for services valued at less than \$500,000.
 - (2) A Subcontractor who:
 - (a) performs work on a State contract for services valued at less than \$100,000,
 - (b) employs 10 or fewer employees and performs work on a State contract for services valued at less than \$500,000, or
 - (c) performs work for a contractor not covered by the Living Wage Law as defined in B(1)(B) above, or B (3) or C below.
 - (3) Service contracts for the following:
 - (a) services with a Public Service Company;
 - (b) services with a nonprofit organization;
 - (c) services with an officer or other entity that is in the Executive Branch of the State government and is authorized by law to enter into a procurement ("Unit"); or
 - (d) services between a Unit and a County or Baltimore City.
- C. If the Unit responsible for the State contract for services determines that application of the Living Wage would conflict with any applicable Federal program, the Living Wage does not apply to the contract or program.

- D. A Contractor must not split or subdivide a State contract for services, pay an employee through a third party, or treat an employee as an independent contractor or assign work to employees to avoid the imposition of any of the requirements of Title 18, State Finance and Procurement, Annotated Code of Maryland.
- E. Each Contractor/Subcontractor, subject to the Living Wage Law, shall post in a prominent and easily accessible place at the work site(s) of covered employees a notice of the Living Wage Rates, employee rights under the law, and the name, address, and telephone number of the Commissioner.
- F. The Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall adjust the wage rates by the annual average increase or decrease, if any, in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the Washington/Baltimore metropolitan area, or any successor index, for the previous calendar year, not later than 90 days after the start of each fiscal year. The Commissioner shall publish any adjustments to the wage rates on the Division of Labor and Industry's Website. An employer subject to the Living Wage Law must comply with the rate requirements during the initial term of the contract and all subsequent renewal periods, including any increases in the wage rate, required by the Commissioner, automatically upon the effective date of the revised wage rate.
- G. A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the employer's share of the health insurance premium, as provided in §18-103(c), State Finance and Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, shall not lower an employee's wage rate below the minimum wage as set in §3-413, Labor and Employment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland. A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the employer's share of health insurance premium shall comply with any record reporting requirements established by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry.
- H. A Contractor/Subcontractor may reduce the wage rates paid under §18-103(a), State Finance and Procurement, Annotated Code of Maryland, by no more than 50 cents of the hourly cost of the employer's contribution to an employee's deferred compensation plan. A Contractor/Subcontractor who reduces the wages paid to an employee based on the employer's contribution to an employee's deferred compensation plan shall not lower the employee's wage rate below the minimum wage as set in §3-413, Labor and Employment Article, Annotated Code of Maryland.
- I. Under Title 18, State and Finance Procurement Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, if the Commissioner determines that the Contractor/Subcontractor violated a provision of this title or regulations of the Commissioner, the Contractor/Subcontractor shall pay restitution to each affected employee, and the State may assess liquidated damages of \$20 per day for each employee paid less than the Living Wage.
- J. Information pertaining to reporting obligations may be found by going to the DLLR Website <u>http://www.dllr.state.md.us/</u> and clicking on Living Wage.